Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bldn10

Another 'What style is this'

bldn10
11 years ago

I have bought and am renovating this circa 1920 house in Memphis for resale. The wing to the right in the photo is a '50s or '60s den addition that I am making into a master suit. The gables and upper sashes look Craftsman but that round door and no porch bring Medieval English or European to my mind. Inside there are Craftsman style bookcases flanking the faux stone FP, and 1 uncased arch between the LR and DR. The shutters are obviously unoriginal.

I have been thinking about turning it into a variation of a rambling French or Italian country house. Or I could just go Craftsman all the way.

Comments (8)

• tinker_2006
    11 years ago

I'm not good at knowing & determining styles.. but I love your house! It has a lot of charm.... good luck!

• chibimimi
    11 years ago

Those half-hip dormers and gables are often used in English Cottage style. This is a wonderful interpretation of that style, with Craftsman touches.

• chibimimi
    11 years ago

Sometimes the half-hips are called jerkinheads. More romantic-sounding!

• marcolo
    11 years ago

Also called clipped gables.

Your house is not Craftsman. The 1920s was the Romantic Revival era--Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, and, as exemplified by your cute house, English Cottage Revival, called English Colonial where I am.

1920s houses that came from kits or purchased plans used a lot of leftover Craftsman influences and construction techniques because these were the default techniques of the previous decade or so. That doesn't make your house a Craftsman, any more than a colonial built today is Modernist because it reflects some Modern ideas, such as large stretches of window or vaulted space.

I am always mystified why someone would want to destroy an excellent example of a charming style to turn it into something else that it isn't, rather than simply purchasing something else to begin with.

• bldn10