Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kadiekins_gw

newbie here

kadiekins
12 years ago

I'm rather new to the forums (I've been lurking for a while now getting inspiration). We purchased our home several years ago and then lifted the house, put a new foundation under it, added on, gutted the interior, and are slowly trying to put things back together. All this while trying to live in the house and doing most of the work ourselves. It's been 2 years now and I still don't have drywall in all the rooms. I know we aren't the only crazy ones around, so I'm sure there are others that have taken on such an undertaking....but does anyone have any GOOD outcomes to help cheer us on? Words of wisdom (the words...don't do it are too late at this point!) or ways to keep our sanity? pics to share?

Comments (6)

• civ_IV_fan
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

when it's over, you'll be bored! the best advice i've heard is to keep a part of the house neat and clean and usable at all times, so it isn't like you are in a construction zone unless you want to be.

• antiquesilver
    12 years ago

When you get burned out from construction, etc, set it aside & work on the yard. It's still work, but it's different & promising results may show up faster.

• karinl
    12 years ago

Wow. You've taken on a lot by doing things from the ground up. If it helps, I envy that - we did a smaller job, by gutting/rewiring etc the main floor and are just now getting around to finishing it by finally stripping and installing mouldings, replacing windows, etc. We have lived without most mouldings and baseboards for nearly 20 years!!! Now that we are finishing things, I find myself wishing that we had started by raising the house and putting in a higher, better foundation with new perimeter drainage. So where you don't have drywall, I don't have the new foundation... and you've got the harder work behind and the easier work ahead.