Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fanner

Caulking shingle siding

fanner
15 years ago

We are priming and painting our old house (I posted a porch question also) and are total novices at it. I know that we are to caulk the gaps in the siding and shingles. My question is are we supposed to leave some areas open? The shingles I am working on right now are on a bit of a slope. Some of them are snug together and others have big gaps between. The bottoms of some are snug against the next row and others are not. Should we be caulking completely around every edge, even where they are snug?

Also, I see on the tube of caulk to use some type of backing under any gaps that are more than 1/2 inch. What do you use? They are irregular areas so small pieces of wood will not fill all of the area. I will try to get a picture up so you can maybe see what I am talking about.

Thanks for any advice!

{{!gwi}}

Comments (8)

• fanner
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Here is a more close up picture.
    What would you put under this??

{{!gwi}}

• sombreuil_mongrel
    15 years ago

You never caulk shingles. You stain them. Looks like they are already sloughing off the paint, which will make your job easier. Shingles are of a very soft wood (like cedar) which tends to shrink and swell as it cycles through rainy/dry periods. Caulk and paint do not help. Stain is the best finish for shingles in climates that see rainfall. Replacement shingles should be obtained pre-dipped in stain so the overlapping areas are also covered.
    Casey

• fanner
    Original Author
    15 years ago