Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
strom_gw

flat or semi-gloss for wood ceilings?

strom
10 years ago

I am a novice renovator who has just moved into a 100-year-old southern farm house. I've got tongue-and-groove walls and ceilings and I think I've figured out how to get them properly primed and painted (any tips would be appreciated though).

Can't figure out whether I should be doing flat, satin, or semi-gloss on the ceilings though. I know you do flat paint on sheet rock, but I am seeing lots of photos of semi-gloss lapboard ceilings. What are the rules of thumb for deciding such things?

Comments (10)

• calliope
    10 years ago

I do not do flat for ceilings anymore, because if I do semi gloss or satin I can wash them!

• palimpsest
    10 years ago

On wood ceilings I would prefer satin or semigloss.

• maryinthefalls
    10 years ago

We did satin on the ceiling boards. It could have easily handled the semi gloss. What look do you like?

• strom
    Original Author
    10 years ago

i do like the look of the non-flat finishes. but i read that shinier paints don't do as good a job at hiding defects, and lord knows my old wood panels have plenty of defects... but i guess therein lies their charm (?). i also do like the idea of being able to wash them -- thanks Calliope for bringing that perspective.

i'm also trying to decide whether to do the walls and ceilings the same color white or not. again, have seen photos of that and also photos of different whites on the walls VS the ceiling.

it's obvious from the original paint in this house that they were all the same color back in the day, so maybe i should roll with that. i just have a hard time trusting my own sense of aesthetics sometimes!

i do appreciate the tips y'all!

• strom
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Just got an answer from my expert sister: eggshell finish on the ceiling, painted with a half-tint of whatever type of white i choose for the walls. that sounds pretty good to me!