Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fanner

Old porch needs help

fanner
15 years ago

Hi, this is my first time posting here and I am excited to get your advice! I will try to post a picture of our porch to give a good idea. We were told by a builder that the whole porch needs replacement except the roof. All of the corner supports are rotted. The problem right now is that he can't re-produce the siding that is curved around the rounded corner. Any suggestions?

{{!gwi}}

The siding in question is at the bottom part of the porch, below the iron railing. Thanks for any advice, I can't let this porch go!!!

Comments (16)

• lucy
    15 years ago

Oh!!! What a gorgeous place! What you need is a local historical society to point you to the nearest contractors who do such work (and usually very well, too). They will research it properly and work with you to get it done, but don't wait too long - if things have rotted, you don't want it all collapsing down one day onto yourselves or visitors.

• sombreuil_mongrel
    15 years ago

Are the fishscale shingles that are visible the original siding? I assume they are. If so, that is the easiest siding material to bend around a radius such as you have. I can't imaging any contractor not knowing that. They even sell pre-cut shingles in the round-ended style you have. In any case, matching shingles can be cut on a bandsaw very easily.
    I think you need a restoration contractor who has worked with curved porches enough to be comfortable with it. Perhaps your contractor is sending a signal that he is not comfortable with the job.
    Casey

• fanner
    Original Author
    15 years ago