Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reddoor_gw

Removing Paint From Pine Floors

Reddoor
10 years ago

Hi all, longtime reader, first time poster here. I moved into a 1922 bungalow recently and have slowly been working on it. Our house has hardwood floors throughout (some original, some newer) except for in one bedroom which has some dirty old carpet in it. Well, I finally got around to starting to pull up the carpet today and now I see why they left that room carpeted. Unfortunately someone along the line painted the entire floor green. So my question is, as a complete newcomer to refinishing floors, is removing this paint and redoing the floors something I can take on myself without ruining my wallet or my marriage? Should my first step being getting this paint tested for lead? Would I need to use a chemical stripper or a sander? Again, I've never done this before and these are the original 1922 pine floors. From what I've read pine is hard to work on and I certainly don't want to ruin them. Then again, I'm not sure you can do worse than green painted floors....

Comments (17)

• liriodendron
    10 years ago

It's possible it was painted over some other kind of finish which will make it easier to get off.

SoyGel is good on pine floors - you need to let it work and work and work (days, if necessary) Cover with plastic to keep it wet while it's on the job.. It is reasonably un-foul to work with. There are other products, but some are extremely vile to use, and not healthy to breathe while doing so.

You can rent a drum floor sander (and an orbital floor edger/sander) to take the green paint off. But you may not be able to get it all out of the cracks and nail holes and dings without going too deep.

It is really easy to get yourself in trouble with a drum sander, by sanding off too much wood.