Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scarlett2001

My stupid mistake!

scarlett2001
11 years ago

I know you experienced re-habbers would know better, but this is my first time trying to fix up an old heap. So I started with the walls - scrubbed, sanded, patched, primed and painted the entire house. Yesterday the guys came to re-do the wiring. Yes, huge holes all over for the new outlets and I do not have enough paint left over to cover the mess. I now have to try to match the paint or if not, I have to re-paint the whole thing. Lesson learned: Paint LAST!

Comments (22)

• graywings123
    11 years ago

Look at it this way: if this is the worst mistake you make in rehabbing your house, you are doing great.

My approach is if there is no blood or broken bones, it's OK.

• brickeyee
    11 years ago

Always start with sealing up the perimeter.

Roofs, windows, siding, doors, etc.
    You need a weather tight house.

Then comes the hidden working parts.
    Plumbing, wiring, HVAC, kitchen vents if you want them.

After all the infrastructure is how you want, you start hiding it.

If you want to preserve old plaster walls it takes longer to do work, but in many cases is not all that hard or destructive.

Plumbing and wiring can be fished through cavities without actually opening up the cavity at all.

PEX or Type L copper will likely be your friend.

• worthy
    11 years ago

If you're actually living in the home, it's understandable that the cosmetics came first.

• Billl
    11 years ago

On the plus side, all the prep work is what really takes time in painting. It is pretty easy (and cheap) to put another coat of paint on a recently painted wall.

• karinl
    11 years ago

The other benefit is having had the opportunity to assess the paint colour in the room! It took me years to really understand how the light works in our house with our needs, and what the best colours therefore were.

Karin L

• scarlett2001
    Original Author
    11 years ago