Anyone move a house?

Posted by marys1000 (My Page) on
Thu, May 31, 07 at 13:11

Just wondering if anyone ever looked into or did this and
what they found out or how it went.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Anyone move a house?

I will let this descend as it appears no one has.....

o

I think if you post on oldhouseweb dot com, you'll find 1 or 2 who have moved houses.

o

I have no personal experience with moving a house, but the house we are closing on next week was moved to its current location about 55 years ago. It was apparently dragged from another location by horses(original location had a stone foundation and dirt floor) to this location with a poured foundation. The house itself is 140 years old.

It is in need of some structural work, but not really related to being moved. After it was put in its new location, they installed a wood burning furnace and cut some support beams and joists to make it fit.

Sorry I don't have anything more helpful to add! Good luck :)

GP

o