Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
colbey_gw

Ideas for this old house?

colbey
13 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new here, and hoping I can get some help. I am in the process of purchasing my first home - a 1928 brick cottage that needs a lot of TLC. It has plenty of problems, but also has some redeeming features, like beautiful arched doorways, a great layout and a wonderful front porch. I have some renovation experience but not a ton, and will be doing a lot of the work myself with the help of several family members with more knowledge than I.

However, I need ideas. I'm in the planning stages and need some ideas of where to head. What would you do with this house? What suggestions would you have? What to do with the exterior, and the interior? I've got a few ideas that I will share once I hear what those of you with infinitely more knowledge have to share!

Budget is an issue, and I would love to maintain as much historical accuracy as possible, although I'm not sure what would be historically accurate for this style of house, or even what style of house it is.

Here are all the pictures - there are many, so you may have to sort through a bit.

http://woodlandaverenovation.shutterfly.com/pictures

Thanks in advance!

Comments (20)

• sacto_diane
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Overall the house looks like it just needs some TLC. I'd start with the cleanup and start addressing the deferred maintenance items. As you are doing the clean-up, etc. I suspect that you may find specific items that need attention.

The addition at the back of the house looks wonky if you ask me. It looks to be structurally unsound and I suspect that there are some water leaks on that weird skylight thing..

I think an exterior paint job on the trim, etc. would do wonders. Just don't paint the brick ;-)

Welcome to old home ownership.

Diane

• colbey
    Original Author
    13 years ago