Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tiffanyatwell

Want to buy old house, is it safe?

tiffanyatwell
16 years ago

Hi, I'm new to the whole idea of buying an older house but my hubby and I love them so much better than the new cookie cutter houses. We recently found an older one that is nearly 100 years old and it got me to thinking, how safe are they to live in and is there anything I should look for or be weary about before buying?

Thanks!

Tiffany

Comments (14)

• happycthulhu
    16 years ago

You should have a through inspection by someone that is familiar with old houses.
    Old houses are no safer or worse than another house, depending on how it was constructed and taken care of.
    However, older homes were usually better built than today's cookie cutter homes.
    Good Luck

• lucy
    16 years ago

When you go to buy a house, you first take a good look, then make an offer through the realtor, specifying that a formal inspection be done before closing and if it goes well, you're all set, but 99% of the time there are at least small fixes that need doing, 70% of the time at least a couple of not so small things need fixing, and 40% of the time there are a lot of major things that need doing. You can niggle and dime the buyers about the little stuff, but most of us don't make a fuss. You negotiate the 'couple of not so small things" after getting an idea what they'd cost to fix, but you get in real pros to cost the major fixes, and if you're smart you'll use those to get the price lowered down - sometimes sellers will offer to do fixes, but don't go there because they'll do the cheapest thing possible to get out of there, and you want to hire your own workers! For a house of ~ 100 yrs, you need a really well recommended inspector (you hire and pay him) to especially check the whole foundation, plumbing, electrics and roof - they're the biggies, plus everything else he'd normally do anyhow (and those are normal too, but need emphasis in old places).

• mebits