Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joposie8

Interior Doors - 5 panel w/mortise lockset

joposie8
13 years ago

Help! Our 1922 house was left with all the original 5-panel doors. Great right? Well not when they all require mortise locksets. Our problem is in the door knobs - the mortise locksets do not work well - the knob turns on the spindle no matter what we do. At the Home Depot they only sell the variation on our doors...no other options. At specialty stores, replacement locksets would run me upwards of $100 per set, with no guarantee that it would work.

so my question is -- is it crazy (I'm new to home projects) to wonder if I could fill the holes in the doors with something, put regular/modern knobs in and salvage the door?

OR

should I be on the hunt for salvaging/buying five panel slab doors to replace, which could be ~ same costs as locksets, but at least I would have a door with no major holes in it.

I've given up on fixing the locksets....4 handymen, and a few friends later we've given up! Advice greatly appreciated.

Comments (15)

• jennifw
    13 years ago

Have you checked salvage yards for replacement doors? I was able to find mine for $35, including a doorknob and frame. All I had to do was repaint them.

good luck.

• kterlep
    13 years ago

well...wait! You can get either salvaged or new mortise sets for $20 or less. Most likely, the little piece of spring steel that makes the mortise go has snapped--if you're mechanical, you can fix it yourself.

• sombreuil_mongrel
    13 years ago

Yes, ebay is your friend. You can buy simple mortise locks all day for about 10 bucks; ones with solid brass faces are about double; remove one, study its characteristics and match it; ask the seller for the faceplate dimensions and backspacing if not given.
    If the knobs are loose, that's another simple fix, and again, ebay is your friend, for knobs, spindles and setscrews.
    Casey

• brickeyee
    13 years ago