Return to the Old House Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Crown molding

Posted by graywings (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 5, 09 at 9:33

I've been lurking on this forum for the past month ever since I became interested in a house built in 1919 in the Federal style, which I am now in the process of buying.

I find it odd that there is no crown molding. It is a modest house, and maybe that accounts for this? Would it be inappropriate for me to install crown molding?

Can you recommend a good website or book on the Federal style? I'm particularly interested in appropriate light fixtures. What is in there now reminds me of fussy Victorian era style lighting, though I am no expert on either style.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Crown molding

There are many resources for Federal Style trim. Just Google it or try Amazon.com.

Here is a link that might be useful: Federal Style trim

o

That was within the period where all sorts of wallpapers were used to give interest to the surfaces, even the ceilings. Frieze papers were extremely popular to enrich the wall/ceiling intersection. In more upscale houses plaster moldings of great elaborateness were used.
Look at the site below, it has some cool stuff; don't miss the archive page, it links from the online catalog section.
Here are some moldings:
http://www.mouldings-etc.com/BAM/Default.aspx

Have fun,
Casey

Here is a link that might be useful: Some historic wallpaper

o

Light fixtures are a tough one because there was no such thing other than chandeliers with candles or Argand lamps. Period lighting in this house would probably have been Colonial Revival and Arts $ Crafts electrical fixtures.

Check out Rejuvenation for period light fixtures.

Could you post a picture of the house? Most Colonial Revivalist houses in that era were more Georgian revival or a mixed bag of colonial elements than a pure Federal. I would be interested to see it.

o

Thanks for the responses. As soon as I own this house, there will be pics, I promise.