Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bentheredonethat

looking for info about this type of house

benjohnson
14 years ago

My wife and I just purchased this home. The records state that it was built in 1910, but a friend remarked that the lines match that of his 1890s home. I had someone look at the windows for preservation - he took a look in the basement and felt that the front part of the house was built using 1890s techniques. I'm wondering if anyone has information about this style. Would you just call it a farmhouse? Any ideas as to the age by looks alone? Any thoughts you have are most welcome...

Here's a link to a photo: http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w159/benthere-donethat/3691345.jpg

Comments (19)

• benjohnson
    Original Author
    14 years ago

{{!gwi}}

• alexia10
    14 years ago

I am not an expert but I did spend a considerable amount trying to date my house so I can tell you what I learned. Just from the "style" of the house you can not get a date, just a period. My house according to style and building clues was dated 1890 to 1910 and it ended up being 1903. Do you have any clues in the inside? Original anything? Plumbing fixtures such as sinks, toilets and bathtubs often have date stamps. Also do not forget that some houses were built a certain year and then "rebuilt" some time later so some of the structures are older than the rest of the house.
    Did you think of tracing your deed? That's always a great resource. Also, some towns still have files with the original building permits. Does your town have a historical society, club? If yes, pay them a visit you will be surprised of what they might have.

• sombreuil_mongrel
    14 years ago

Judging by the cornice work, it looks a bit older than 1890; more like 1860-70.
    Casey

• Billl
    14 years ago