Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wifetojoeiii

Glass Block Basement windows

wifetojoeiii
13 years ago

X posted in windows and basements forums.

We are looking at installing glass block windows in our older home. We have talked with a few installers and I have questions. Some use mortar, some use silicone to construct the windows - your opinion on which is better? Better to fill in the gap between the windows or not (concave shape in between)?

Completely removable screens or not?

All opinions are welcome.

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• columbusguy1
    13 years ago

Screens? You won't be able to open basement windows at all once you put in glass block. No air flow, and trapped humidity in summer, forcing you to run a dehumidifier if the basement is damp at all.
    I have no experience with glass block, but have seen shows on it--using both mortar and silicone. From what I recall, mortar was longer lasting and better in an exterior application.
    Personally, I think glass block seriously detracts from the look of an old house.

• worthy
    13 years ago

Unless you're in a desert, opening basement windows in the summer only allows in more humid outside air. (See Read This Before You Move In. from Building Science Corp./US Dept. of Energy Building America.)

Mortar or dry systems are both acceptable. But you must use only the proprietary systems that the manufacturers specify. Pre-fabricated glass block panels mortared or nailed are a simpler way to go.

• User
    13 years ago

We're in suburban Chicago and a previous owner replaced our original basement windows with glass block. They are mortared in place. In the middle of each window, 2 blocks were omitted and a vinyl framed window/screen unit is in place in each.