Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bknouse

Horse hair plaster cracks

bknouse
18 years ago

Help! We are moving into an old farm house that has cracked horse hair plaster walls in the living room. What's the best way to patch these cracks? Upstairs the walls have been drywalled over, but I don't want to do that downstairs so any suggestions? I'm a beginner so take it slow on the instructions. Thanks!

Comments (23)

• brickeyee
    18 years ago

The fiorst thing to do is find out if the cracks move with the weather and seasons. If they do the repair methods are limited.
    If the cracks do not move, they can be filled with setting type drywall compound like Easysand. Mix it about as thick as peanut butter and force it into the cracks using a 5 or 6 inch drywall knife.

• bknouse
    Original Author
    18 years ago

The cracks don't move and they aren't very wide. Someone told me to use some type of mesh tape? and do the cracks like you would drywall tape between dry wall sheets. But as I've said I know nothing. Just patching the cracks sounds easier then dealing with tape and mudding over it. Thanks for the info.

• brickeyee
    18 years ago

Try just mudding first.
    Mesh tape and setting compound works well for wider cracks, but anything less than 1/4 inch will usually close up fine.
    Do not bother trying regular joint compound. It shrinks and makes a mess of plaster walls.
    So called 'patching plaster' is also not good for much of anything. It dies not have sufficient lime and retarders added to work very well.
    Easysand90 is a setting type compound ( a modern version of plaster and lime) that set in about 90 minutes. If mixed thick it will have minimal shrinkage.

• bknouse
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks, I'm heading to HD tomorrow so I will get some Easysand90 and give it a try.

• sierraeast
    18 years ago