Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bayareafrancy

Do 20 amp pushbutton switches exist??

bayareafrancy
16 years ago

Hi all,

I've convinced my husband to install pushbutton switches in our home. We have the ones carried by Classic Accents. They are 15 amp. But in our kitchen, the garbage disposal needs a 20 amp switch.

Dang it: I've been restoring my vintage kitchen for 2 years now. I need that switch! It is on a prominent wall, and I don't want to have one "modern" switch there.

I don't know of any brand other than CA.

Help!

Francy

Comments (13)

• mom2lilenj
    16 years ago

I don't know of any so no help there. But if you can't find any an air switch for the disposal might be less obtrusive than a regular switch. Have you called CA to see if they know of any that can carry 20 amps?

I'm sure this is completely not to code, but to cut the current you could connect two switchs in parallel and just make sure you switch both of them at the same time. LOL :)

• kec01
    16 years ago

We have all Classic Accents as well, including the one for our garbage disposal...a Kitchen Aid. Ours has been fine for nearly 2 years now. But, give CA a call and see what they say.

Rejuvenation also has push buttons but I think they are the same manufacturer as those at CA, just more expensive. You could check there, too.

• charles_von_hamm
    16 years ago

Do not do what mom2lilenj said. A chain is only as strong as its weakest link. That applies to electrical as well. It doesn't make sense either.

• mom2lilenj
    16 years ago

I'm sorry I should have specified I was kidding :( Because there is no way you could practically switch the switches at exactly the same time.

• bayareafrancy
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I got the joke!

And my husband might agree to a dedicated 15 amp switch (it's currently on a dedicated 20)...

Thanks!
    Francy

• brickeyee
    16 years ago

"But in our kitchen, the garbage disposal needs a 20 amp switch."

Based on?