Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
itsallfun

Wiring for Welder

noworries
19 years ago

I'm wiring my garage and want to install two outlets for a welder that I would then move between them as the need arises. Do you typically put two 50 amp breakers in the panel and have separate circuits, or use one and tap the line in a splice box to feed the second outlet? I've only got 100 amps coming into the building.

My local inspector doesn't like the idea of two outlets on a single 50 amp circuit. My opinion is that its safer to trip the single 50 amp breaker if I were stupid enough to connect two big loads at once, than otherwise to rely on tripping the main breaker with a panel overload.

I posted this issue on the wiring forum, but it occurs to me that this group may have more real world experience with this particular issue. (There doesn't seem to be a problem with tapping the line WRT the national electric code).

Comments (13)

• triptester
    19 years ago

I am not a electrician, but what you are planning does not sound unsafe,compare it to a 20 Amp kitchen circuit that has multiple outlets. You may have a coffee pot ,toaster, and microwave all on the same circuit ,no problem, unless they are all turned on at the same time. Besides the welder requires 50 Amps for maximum output and duty cycle.

• modre
    19 years ago

I would do a convenient single outlet off a dedicated 50A breaker, then make up a cheater 20-30' extention cord to extend the physical range with the proper plug ends...by the time you run the wire around the peremeter for the 2nd outlet, you'll have double the length of wire over an extention anyway. and I think a second dedicated breaker is probably going to be required by code for that second outlet. I do know they frown on multiple wires off the breaker connection.