Return to the Metalworking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Thin steel

Posted by joefixit2 (My Page) on
Mon, Nov 16, 09 at 22:21

Sorry for all the questions at once, I just started learning to stick weld with a Linde 230 Amp AC machine.

I am doing fine with the heavy steel, but I am having a lot of trouble with the thin stuff. I keep blowing holes in it and my finished joints look pretty rough, full of gaps and holes. I have been using 6011 rods, 3/32" and setting the amps down around 60-65, if I try to go lower than that I can't draw an arc. I tried some 6013s also with no luck. The steel is square tube, I don't know the gauge but is is about 3/32" when I measure it with a caliper.

It is especially bad if the fit up is not perfect, I just seem to make the gap bigger then keep grinding and bridging till it holds.

Any help would be appreciated. I wanted to master stick welding first, before I invest in a good MIG.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Thin steel

You might consider investing in a cheap MIG. They are much more forgiving than stick welding, especially stick welding with an AC buzz box.

See if you can find some smaller diameter welding rod for the low amperage you are using. The 3/32 ay be too heavy. Also, stick welding on light gauge steel is always easier using DC reverse polarity than AC. The arc is more stable, and puddles are more managable.

You will find that when strength is important, the 6011 will do a better job, but 6013 will be easier to use, give a better appearing weld, spatter less, and slag removal will be easier compared to 6011.

o
RE: Thin steel