Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plateaugal

Beaten copper sheets?

plateaugal
19 years ago

I am a novice trying to duplicate the texture of our beautiful beaten copper sink for a fridge panel. I have a 20 gauge copper sheet and bought some liver sulfur. But I have problems trying to beat the copper with a ball hammer. You all will understand right away that my copper becomes distorted as it becomes a little larger (locally) with each hammer strike. I did some more homework and learned that I need to anneal it when I am finished beating, but this is beyond my capability. Now I wonder if I can just buy a beaten copper sheet locally. Where would I look for this? I saw the recent thread about copper sheets, but did not see anything about beaten copper. (We live in the SF Bay area.)

Comments (10)

• brickeyee
    19 years ago

The copper is beaten over end grain wood to develope the shape. You will only need to anneal it if it work hardens more than you want. If all you want is a flat panel the work hardening should not be a problem.

• Konrad___far_north
    19 years ago

Not to sure what exactly you need, but this I know, when copper gets hard from
    hammering and you want to soften it up, then heat it up to a dark red and quickly
    cool it in cold water.
    Konrad

• plateaugal
    Original Author
    19 years ago

brickeyee, Could I use my Butcher block which is endgrain hardwood or would that be too hard?

Konrad, My sheet is 3' x 4', so a bit large for heating evenly. I assume I would have to heat the whole thing at once. Is that right?

• brickeyee
    19 years ago

Endgrain softwood is used if you want to develope a texture. If you do it on the butcher block, be prepared to replace or resurface it.
    Unless you ned to bend or form the sheet, you are not likely to need to anneal it. Work hardening of a sheet that will be used flat is not much of a problem.

• plateaugal
    Original Author
    19 years ago