Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reevesmacon

tapping a hole

reevesmacon
19 years ago

I'm looking for some advice on drilling and tapping a hole in cast iron. What materials and equipment do i need? Specific info please. I'm a woodworker, so i have a good drill press. Also sometimes i will need a hole where the DP can't go. Where can i get the tapping equipment at a good price? Would a used set on Ebay be OK, or does this type of tool need to be new? If this is the wrong forum for this type of question, please let me know. Thanks, Chris

Comments (22)

• kbeitz
    19 years ago

You can't beat E-bay for the price of large tap&die sets... Check it out...

• USN_ED
    19 years ago

E-bay is a good source as "kbeitz" says but you might want to try a new set of Craftsman, Taps and Dies from Sears. It is inevitable that you will break one or the other as time goes on and all you have to do with the Cratsmans is take them into Sears for a free replacement - no questions asked.

• kbeitz
    19 years ago

But you can't buy a set from sears for $20.00... I got a new very large gold coated set for that price off E-bay...
    There is so many to chose from... Look for the ones that have the most bids... Other people know what to buy...

• john_in_ma
    19 years ago

I haven't bought one of those eBay sets, but as far as I'm concerned the jury's still out. I've talked to folks who have bought import taps and drill bits, and had them bend, break, and in one amazing case, a drill bit's flutes _straighten out_.

• gooseberry_guy
    19 years ago

Stay with quality stuff like Sears or similar. And since cast iron can be hard to drill and tap, go with premium materials, cobalt or better.