Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
toomuchglass

Another question - welding steel rods

toomuchglass
14 years ago

I'm sorry to be such a pest ... but after learning to do "basic" welding ... (with my precious "toy" mig welder -LOL ) I'm hooked and want to learn more ! I've been shown how to bend steel rods with heat - for some reason - all I can do is bend a 90 ° angle. Can they be bent in curves ? If you have a moment to send me a website or reply .... I really appreciate it . Thank you all so much for your help . I feel I should explain that I'm not a TOTAL beginner :

**** I've been constructing 3-D stained glass pieces for years ..... I'm a master at soldering & decorative soldering . Before that ... I did woodworking. Now that I'm trying to learn everything I can about welding ... I seem to get the "leave it to the men" attitude . hhhhmmmmmm....

Maybe it's the gray hair ~~ LOL Well - I just wanted to let you know I'm serious about learning. Your help is priceless to me. A HUGE THANK YOU !!!

PS .... My husband loves a wife that would rather get tools than diamonds ! LOLOLLL

Comments (10)

• alphonse
    14 years ago

Steel rod can be bent any way you imagine, with no heat being required depending on cross sectional area, yield point and use of fixturing.
    Basic bends are accomplished using two pins for starting/fulcrum points.
    On the web no one knows your sex or hair color- mine's gray too! But your question is a bit vague.

• toomuchglass
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Well Alphonse - I'm a 55 year old mom/wife that wants to try every craft there is ! I don't think I have the strength to bend a rod without heat . ( and of course - since I'm a beginner and probably know about 1% of the craft ) - I'm sticking to simple things like garden trellisses , plant stands .. curly thingees for the yard ... etc. That's why I wanted to know how to bend a rod other than just a 90° angle. Thanks for your help !

• alphonse
    14 years ago