Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plateaugal

Intricate cuts in sheet metal

plateaugal
14 years ago

I am a complete novice, so please forgive my ignorance. I want to make some intricate curved, and clean cuts in fairly thin sheet metal. What hand or pneumatic tools would you recommend? Would a Dremel with the right attachment be helpful? I have a pneumatic metal cutter, but it is best for straight lines.

The first photo shows copper foil pressed over a worn out push plate. I glued it to the back, and now I want to cut a clean edge so I can then screw the finished plate onto the door, and hope no one realizes it is not plated. If I can just cut the curve and get rid of burrs, it should be fine.

The second shot is an arch to reduce the area of my fireplace opening. I have hopes it will cure the smoking fireplace problem. It will also be covered in copper foil. First, though I just want to smooth out the curve a bit at the two "corners" at the end of the arch.

I bet there is something out there that will do the trick for both jobs.

Here is a link that might be useful: Remodel

Comments (5)

• alphonse
    14 years ago

1. Aviation tin snips will do most anything you could imagine. A bit of a learning curve, and the cuts may need some subsequent file work.

1. A pilot guided,flush trim, carbide tipped two or three flute router bit will work in a router or better, an air die grinder. Smooth, though slight scalloping may be seen on edges, depending on skill of operator. DO NOT use these on steel!

2. 1/4" shank carbide burrs work very well in a die grinder. They eat steel.