Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
computer123_gw

in need of a 1/4+ inch cutting welder (im a beginner)

Computer123
19 years ago

hey im only 13 but like building stuff but i have a lot of tools but not a welder. what kind of welder should i get as far as arc mig and whatever else there is. the things that id be doing with it would be making rails and stuff for my skateboard. i would use stuff like 2" square tubing and that same thing for the legs. and then i would use 1/4" steel for the base so it doesnt tip over you know? and i would weld it all together so it would look like a big bar __________ thats 8' long, with 2 1' tall pipes under it to make it stand up. and then oon those one foot things i would put a 1/4" thick flat bar under both of the legs to make the "foot" so it doesnt tip.

i wouldnt use it for only this but other things too. im wondering what to get like i want it to be cheap but not so cheap it doesnt fit my requirements.. i think my require ments would be for it to cut through at LEAST 1/4" and make it sturdy. actually ill give you a link to see what it'd look like i cant explain it very well:

http://www.ramprage.com/rampplans/plans_and_designs/1/153