Return to the Menopause Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Psychological Changes of Menopause

Posted by xminion (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 7, 10 at 14:52

What happened to all the hobbies and interests I have been working with for the past 30 years of my life? I've let them all slide (along with my figure) into oblivion. Since my periods stoped, it seems that nothing is of any real importance to me anymore. However, generally, most days, my mood is pretty good, it's just that everything I've worked hard on all my life - now I couldn't care less. Why?
Anybody else know what I'm talking about?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Psychological Changes of Menopause

xminion, I could be your twin, lol. I have the same problems. Things that used to be so important just aren't anymore. I am going to the Dr. and try and figure out what I need to feel somewhat normal again. I have been on Paxil, didn't do anything for the moodiness and ANGER. So , I'm slowly weaning myself off of it. I think it could be an undeactive Thyroid and once again I'm getting that checked. It seems very prevelant in Menopausal women, because of the lack of estrogen.

I am taking really good supplements and I'm not seeing any real help from those, but I won't stop. I also started taking 5-HTP, which is an Amino Acid that contains Tryptophan, which is found in Turkey and Milk. It's suppose to help with leveling out moods, help to lose weight and also with sleep.

I might break down and go on Hormone Replacement, but at the lowest level possible, because I have a Family history of Cancer on both sides of the family.

Good luck and don't give up. You are worth it!!!

Susan

o
RE: Psychological Changes of Menopause

Hi Earthygal52,