Return to the Menopause Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Anyone use Vaginal Estrogen Cream?

Posted by rosewest (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 30, 06 at 19:01

Saw the gyno today and she said the only thing she's ever seen work for dry, atrophied vaginal tissue is prescription topical estrogen cream used vaginally. Anyone use it? Should I be concerned about side effects, short or long term??? TIA

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Anyone use Vaginal Estrogen Cream?

I was prescribed the tablet that is inserted vaginALLY. I have been using it for about 1 1/2 months now. Everyday for the first 2 weeks and 2 x a weeks since. I don't think I see a great difference yet. It is still very tight. Let me know how you work out with your treatment. I did notice my breasts are tender and a little larger.

o

My dr. told me it would take 4-6 weeks to see an effect in the vaginal area. I'll let you know how it works for me...

o

TIA
I've had two different drs. tell me different things about my body absorbing the estrogen in vaginal estrogen. One said it doesn't absorb, the other said it does. That was very frustrating for me.

So, I went on a search. I've read articles that says it does absorb, but very little that doesn't present concern. Maybe that's the differencing of opinion.

Anyway, to answer your question, from the information that I have, it shouldn't be a concern, since the vaginal estrogen is a low dosage (25 ul(mcg).

All other information, according to studies on estrogen, indicates it's the long term usage that causes problems. They recommend using oral estrogen for 6 mos then give your body a break.

Hopefully something in that helps you feel more comfortable about using it or at least giving it long enough to see if it helps you. Good luck.

o