Return to the Menopause Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Heart Palpatations

Posted by moliere42 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 31, 08 at 17:46

Hello!

I am new to heart palpitations. I'm a tiny 66-year old lady and have had continuous heart palps for about a month. Initially, they were pretty wild and I became alarmingly out of breath. But that hasn't happened to me again to any great extent. Right now they're causing my left breast to move up and down very, very slightly. There's also a faint, detectable stirring in between my breasts.

For years I have been drinking too much caffein. Also, I smoke between 3-7 cigarettes a day. Since these palps have started I've been weaning myself off of them. I'm down to between 3-4.

In reading some of the messages on heart palps, I note a connection with hypoglycemia. I have experienced that jittery feeling that stops a lot quicker if I stuff myself with protein, usually cheese. Several months agao the paramedics were called because I was feeling extremely lightheaded. My blood pressure was a little bit high. I was given cookies and milk and told to eat a cookie every day. Which I do.

What I would like to know is, does this sound like I am in a lot of trouble?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Heart Palpatations

Hi moliere,
I know you don't want to hear this, but you need to see the doctor. There's just no way of knowing, without some cardiac tests.
I'm glad you're trying to cut down on your smoking, and caffeine can definitely cause or worsen them.
You could try taking calcium and magnesium. That always helped with my palpitations.
Your palpitations could be completely harmless. Lots of people have them. But you really need to be tested to make sure there's not a problem. Try not to be scared. The testing is all fairly easy. Good luck to you.

o