Return to the Menopause Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cellulite and menopause

Posted by Katalina (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 6, 02 at 0:02

I have it all over and I hate it so much. Summer is here and I still have to dress like Nanook of the North. Someone told me it can be connected to hormones. I just started replacement therapy but I haven't seen any difference--it hasn't been that long. I am somewhat overweight but not really too bad--maybe 12 pounds. Does anybody know how to get rid of it?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cellulite and menopause

Well, I'm no expert, but I have the feeling that our bodies know what they're doing......even if we're not agreeing to it. I guess what I'm saying is the deposition of fat, especially in new areas, is just what the aging female body does. I'm not sure that a little hormone replacement is going to change the course of nature. Sorry. :( I guess the only thing to do is eat right and get exercise. But, in my case, I think I just have to make friends with it (the fat).

o

Hi Katalina :o)

I have always had a problem with cellulite in the front of my thighs, however, since the onset of menopause and taking HRT, it became much worse. Part of it, I believe, was the water retention I experienced. My doctor prescribed a diuretic (plus Potassium) and that helped to some degree. I also found a recipe for a massage oil for cellulite which helped as well. This is from an Aromatherapy Handbook - Essential Oils for Radiant Health by Susanne Fischer-Rizzi.

Orange - 25 drops
Cypress - 8 drops

Mix these oils in 1 3/4 fluid ounces of jojoba oil and 1 3/4 ounces of wheat germ oil. Use twice a week in addition to the cellulite bath to reduce cellulite.

Cellulite bath:

Juniper - 5 drops
Orange - 3 drops
Cypress - 3 drops
Lemon - 3 drops

Mix well in 2 tablespoons of honey. Essential oils dissolve easily in honey. Pour mixture into the bathtub - either before or after running the bath water.