Return to the Menopause Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help for migraines, please

Posted by cmread (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 21, 12 at 19:34

A couple of weeks ago I began having severe hot flashes, night sweats, chills, and waking up to go pee about every other hour, and I was already having migraines but now I have them about every other day. A few days ago I began using black cohosh extract, and evening primrose oil along with some other homeopathic meds for sleep, nerves, and hot flashes, but nothing has helped with the migraines. Can someone please tell me something I can use for the migraines, I know it is caused by a hormonal imbalance, but since I am fairly new to this menopause thing, I thought there may be some ladies here that could give me some advice. Thank you in advance for any help you can give.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help for migraines, please

I have a friend who has severe migraines. Besides prescription medications, she's tried many alternative therapies. Finally she hit the jackpot and found one that worked for her - it's progesterone cream.

She rubs the cream on her forehead when she can sense a headache coming on. She waits 20 minutes, and re-applies.

Below is a site with numerous related articles.

Here is a link that might be useful: Migraines and progesterone cream

o

I believe in better living through chemials. Fiorinal. Really.

My migraines dropped dramatically in frequency after menopause. Before that, I got one just before nearly every period. Now they are down to three or four a year at most. Fiorinal works great for me.

o

Don't mean to lurk on you ladies, but yes I am a man, my wife has to endure these migraines, with the nausea that comes with it.

She is already cursed with headaches if she doesn't eat regularly, so the migraine and nausea combine to perpetuate the migraine, which perpetuates the nausea. I am sure many of you don't need me to explain that, having suffered it yourselves.