Return to the Menopause Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
testosterone and libido

Posted by
Gracie
(rpmi1640@hotmail.com) on
Wed, Mar 21, 01 at 14:45

I know the current story is that testosterone cream boosts libido, but have any of you actually found this to be true? I used a .2% cream briefly and it only made me mean and agressive. My gyn said that he has had other ladies tell him the same thing. I've been using progesterone cream for about 2 months now and noticed only a temporary improvment (only lasted about 3 days). I'm beginning to wonder if anything helps. If you have any clues, please share them. My husband is trying to be patient, but he says he's been turned down more times than a bedspread.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: testosterone and libido

How much of the 2% did you use and how often? Women only make about 0.25mg a day, and in 2% cream, it's impossible to measure that small a quantity. Since the undesirable effects show up at higher doses, the trick to using it is to take only as much as you need. Your dose should be maybe only 1/100 th or less of a cc (you can't even talk teaspoons in this context, since there are roughly 5 cc in a teaspoon), so that's the tiniest possible smear of the stuff. You can decrease the dose even further by only using an eod dosing sched (or less).

It takes a full month or so to see the effect on libido. You may also note a few hot flashes for the first week or two on it (I did, but I'm in surgical menopause so have less resiliance with hormonal variations than those of you in natural menopause) as it causes your other ovarian hormones levels to adjust in response (because you can make one from the other, so there's a domino effect every time you change something as your body reallocates priorities/production).

I'd respectfully suggest that maybe you took too much and not long enough. You may want to give it a retry in a less/longer pattern. It worked for me :)

Framboise

o

Framboise: