Return to the Menopause Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best Kind of Calcium

Posted by lois_mo (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 11, 06 at 12:31

What really is the best kind of Calcium to take? There is Coral Calcium (was hyped at one time), then all the others. I have osteoporosis and do not want to take the drugs. Had a BAD reaction to my first dose of Boniva and will not take the others now! I walk my dogs EVERY day for 1/2 hr or less, drink 3 glasses of milk a day, and try to eat right. (Used to be a runner)....but who knows what the best kind of Calcium tabs that you can add to your diet?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best Kind of Calcium

Off the top of my head, I would say probably Caltrate or a similar one, but I'm no expert. It sounds like you get close to your daily recommended needs from your diet. Alot of it depends on whether you absorb and utilize what you take, and not just how much you are taking. Ask your doctor what he/she recommends for calcium supplements.
Mrs H

o

I've heard that calcium from milk isn't that good. Broccoli is a great source. I take Caltrate Plus, 2 pills each day. I take it mostly for my IBS, which, surprisinging, it has helped alot. I guess that's because of it's constipating effects.
I've heard that weight lifting helps alot too. I never understood that, but it's supposed to be real good for your bones. That can include just lifting something like books. You don't have to lift barbells!

o

the best kind is the one that also provides magnesium
which helps in absorption.

(I am wondering if the recent hoop-la report that said
that calcium had NO effect realized that they only
prescribed 1000 mg calcium carbonate.)

-also be sure to calculate 1500 mg calcium total per day
-and 800 IU Vitamin D (because you obviously where sunscreen, and cannot get your Vitamin D). so drink milk that has D.
-don't take 1500 mg in one dose; better to break it up into 2 doses at minimum.

o