Return to the Menopause Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to prometrium

Posted by wnkk1 (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 20, 02 at 12:21

I have been diagnosed with estrogen dominence by my doctor.
I have not yet entered perimenopause but have lots of systems like incredible sore breasts for 2 weeks before my period, looking pregnant, tons of gas, etc.

I have to wait 2 weeks to start to get to the right part of
my cycle. Anyone have experience with prometrium used in
this situation? Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to prometrium

How did your doctor diagnose "estrogen dominance?" Also how did s/he learn that you have "not yet entered perimenopause?" Sore breasts are a side effect of prometrium. See www.rxlist.com for a complete list of the side effects of promterium.

o

Hi I am new to prometrium too. I had the exact same question as you - breasts so painful it wakes me up at night. Someone from this board sent me this link to explain the breast tenderness.

http://yourlifesource.com/estrogen-receptors.htm

Anyhow I called my doctor to ask how long the breast tenderness was going to last - because it's been a week since I stopped the first course of Prometrium and they are still tender. She said those symptoms are more typical of estrogen. I find that interesting because her statement about estrogen matches the info in the link.

Unfortunately I don't take estrogen supplements so I can't cut down on it as the article suggests, but hopefully everything will stabilize over time. I am going to stick with it a bit longer and hope the pain stops.

I hope this helps.

o