SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mysteryflavor

Need advice/help for a crumbling marriage!

MysteryFlavor
10 years ago

Hello! This is my first time, so sorry if I can be unclear.

My wife and I have been together for nearly a decade. I'm 29, she's 28. We have two kids (daughter 2 1/2, son 6) and my family means the world to me. As a family, we have a great relationship. As a couple, we've been gradually drifting apart from each other for about the past 2 1/2 years. Keep in mind that I can get lazy at times and be somewhat manic depressive, but not at all too much to handle. She suffers from depression and anxiety, and she sometimes can lash out (emotionally and verbally).

In the beginning, life was great. We were a couple that had everything going for us. School, work, money, friends, trust, intimacy, and we both have supportive families. After 2 years of being together, we had a son. Things were still fine and dandy. We enjoyed each others company and our son just enhanced our fun. We got married at about 4 1/2 years and everything was still great (think American dream).

We decided to have another child while we were still young, so on the 6th year, we had a baby girl. Best little princess ever. But there were complications after she gave birth. She hemoraged and was quite literally a thread away from death. Her body was able to beat it though thank god, but her mental health became horribly unstable (and I don't blame her).

I tried to be as supportive as possible and I did all the house chores, kids going to school/daycare, finances, and emotional support. I did this for nearly a year, but I started feeling like a single father. She no longer wanted to be touched (and by touched, I don't mean intimacy, I mean literally not wanting to be touched), no longer wanted to talk to me, borderline didn't care how I felt, and didn't care about my short list of needs. It felt like I had a roomate.