SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
meghane_gw

Any childless by choice married couples out there?

Meghane
21 years ago

Hey all, I was just wondering how many of you are CBC, and what experiences you have had with other people because of it.

My story: I'm a vet tech. I was chatting with a client who was having trouble with her neighbor's Husky. Huskys are notorious for being high-strung, which can sometimes translate as snappy. If you get too close to their food, in their territory, they don't know you... some will bite in those situations. So anyway, I was saying that I have a Husky and although he's very good, I don't allow children or those acting like children near him because he has been known to snap (although the people at risk didn't even know it, but that's another story or two). So this client asked me what if I had kids? I told her I'm not having kids. She again asks but what if I did? Now I don't like kids much at all, and her ~10 year old boy was standing right there, so I didn't just want to say I don't like kids. Finally I just said "what if you didn't have kids- would you have a Husky?" and she looked at me like well duh, I have a kid. Then I said "I'm sure I won't have kids, as sure as your boy is standing right there." It's like she never heard of a woman (and my DH) who simply refused to propagate. Aren't there any others like us?

Comments (106)

• MatildaS
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago