Return to the Marriage Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Diamond Ring

Posted by organic_annb (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 11, 06 at 20:38

Were shopping for a diamond for a ring, but its so hard to select one, everyone is giving me different info. Any advice?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Diamond Ring

PS
Just find a site that looks real helpful. http://www.andersonanalytics.com/diamond.htm
Looks like it may be a useful way to make a decision between two diamonds?

Here is a link that might be useful: Wedding Diamond Price Estimator

o

What questions do you have? I have a lot of knowledge about this - I am an "analyzer" shopper, and I once wrote an article about this for a local paper.

o

Really, can you post the article?

o

You need to decide what you want....glitz or a flawless diamond? One that looks flashy, or one that is internally perfect.
To get the biggest good looking stone for the least money, I prefer a great color...at least G or F and can easily tolerate si quality if the inclusion is a white "feather" and is below the girdle of the stone.
You should decide on how much you have to spend and then go shopping.....and realize that diamonds have a HUGE mark up.....so because one store offers a similar diamond for less, doesn't mean that it is a lesser quality....just that their mark up is not as great.
So decide what you can spend and go looking, know the "Three C's" of each stone you look at and then you can better compare.
Linda C

o

Gina, what is an analyzer shopper?

o

I don't have a copy - it's been about 15 years. I mean I analyze anything I buy - I'm nerdy that way. I research and get educated - and diamonds are something you definitely should educate yourself about before buying or you may end up spending thousands too much. Also, my mom managed a local jewelry store for 20 years before she retired.

Anything over 1/4 carat:

If you are thinking of going to a local diamond/jewelry district - you will get ripped off if you don't know what you're doing.