Return to the Marriage Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Which one of you...

Posted by Mausie (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 8, 02 at 13:54

Does all the finances, or do you share? DH and I lived together for three years before we got married, and tried it every way. When we both did it it was the WORST (things didn't get paid, lots of fights, etc). When DH did everything a lot of stuff didn't get taken care of, and we were not saving at all. I've been doing it all for the last two years, and it's working out well... All money goes into a joint checking account, from there I pay the bills, DH gets some "play money" into a checking account of his own, and the rest goes into savings. I was just wondering how other people handled things!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Which one of you...

When we were both working we took turns...one year I would do it and the next was his turn. Now, I do it all and it is much better! Credit card bills get paid off each month, payments are made in a timely manner and I BALANCE THE CHECK BOOK without any hassles. And things are a lot more organized!

o

I take care of the bills and balance the checkbook. DH handles the income taxes....

o

I do it all, but not perfectly. I don't like to do it so I wish DH would, but he would never get things out on time. We do the same thing we did when we were living together, put the same percentage of our income into joint account for bills and travel, and then keep the rest for personal allowance! We have opposite stereotypes, he spends like crazy, and doesn't watch his debt, I am at least more careful about that. But I have made a mistake on taxes, oops. We really need an accountant!!

o

Dh does most of it-I hate to balance a checkbook! He is really a better organizer then me. Also files our bills/statements in our filing cabinet.

o