Return to the Marriage Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Should spouse pay rent?

Posted by kellyz2009 (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 8, 09 at 0:49

Should spouse pay rent?
My spouse, Jessie, says I should pay rent while I say that a marriage does not include one spouse paying rent to the other. While the idea of paying rent to my spouse does not seem right to me, I am open to whatever the right thing to do is; hence Im posting to this forum in hopes of getting feedback as to what other couples in similar marriages are doing. Here are the relevant details (I apologize for the length; I am not good at being succinct):

Weve been married four years, and we each have two children from previous marriages; Jessies two live with us full time (the oldest is currently living at University) and my two were already out of the house by the time we got married, so they never lived with us.

We had what I thought to be a reasonable arrangement to cover expenses:
Jessie owns a house which was ~75% paid off when we married; if something happened to Jessie, the plan was to sell the house and give the proceeds to Jessies children, with the caveat that after ~five years I would "probably" begin to get partial interest in the house. I took this to mean that we would eventually end up pooling all of our assets and resources.
Because Jessie was already paying the household bills, I have been direct depositing money to Jessies bank account every payday so that I am paying my (more than) fair share;
In addition, Ive paid for all of our vacations, including costs for Jessies children (airfare, hotels, food, activities, etc.); Ive paid for all of our entertainment, e.g., dining out, movies, Disneyland, musicals, etc.;
Ive also paid many incidentals for Jessies children, some of which include multiple University / College application fees, school supplies, personal hygiene purchases, etc, etc.
In essence, Ive paid for everything just as if Jessies children were my children.