Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
huskyridor

what exactly is modular vs manufactured?

huskyridor
17 years ago

I'm curious as to the differences between manufactured versus modular homes.

I'm a pool construction contractor and could easily farm out the work for conventionally constructing a lake house. The main problem is that it's out of pocket. I would get heavily trip charged by my subs or have to get service provided by subs I have no relationships with. And, equally as important is the TIME, I can't drop everything to run over as necessary if something comes up.

I've considered either buying a used mobile for the time being then building most of the new home myself with laborers later. Or getting a new one and enjoying the newness immediately then dealing with the should I or shouldn't I build a house later .

This'll be my lake place now and retirement home in 15 to 20.

Thanks in advance.

See ya

Kelly

Comments (10)

• valtog
    17 years ago

I'm going to try to link to another post...wish me luck:)

Be careful and do your homework. The quality of ALL types of homes vary greatly. You can get a nice home or a piece of carp. Good luck!

Here is a link that might be useful: This might help...

• christopherh
    17 years ago

The terminology is indeed correct.

But what are you looking for? A modular home is exactly like a site built home in every way. Now you can get a low priced home with few amenities, or you can get a very nice lake house with all the bells and whistles.

The ONLY advantage a modular home has over a site built home is TIME. The costs are pretty much the same. Lot clearing, cellar, furnace, well, septic, driveway, etc are all equal on both. Add in the price of the house itself, and the total cost is pretty much the same as a site built house. And once they are set, they aren't meant to be moved.