Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flrich

?Extensive Drywall Damage on New Build ?

flrich
17 years ago

I am new to modular homes. I have been researching them since we are looking to build one very soon, or maybe not. One of the local builders, actually one who seems to be one of the best has some great models we like. I have had several homes built in the past back in FL but these were all CBS (Concrete Block Structure)so modular is new for me. I asked about the building process and they gave me an open invite to any of their current builds, one of which is a upscale development under construction with prices between $799K to $1.2M.

Thursday I visited one in the finishing process and I was really impressed! I saw one home being dropped in place but due to the crane and such I decided to stay out of the way and come back. Today I returned and walked through the place since there were no doors installed.

I was SHOCKED, almost each and every wall in the entire home was not only cracked but more like busted in two. Mostly near door frames and window frames. Many if not most were either bowed in or bowed out. The rest of the home looked OK, some of the modules showed some 1/8 to 1/4 gaps since the siding was not installed this was very obvious with the sky clear as day in the attic. I think this MAY be acceptable with sealant and insulation but I am a little worried about that also.

Is this normal with higher end Modular construction? A good drywall guy can fix the cracks and such BUT I think we all know that a cracked fixed today will be a gap a year from now and every other couple of years from here to eternity. I am concerned, I really like the modular idea but considering these people seem to be the best out there I am worried at dropping $300K plus on a headache!

Comments (9)

• huskyridor
    17 years ago