Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cmayomh

Considering an older (1972) mobile home - what do I need to know?

cmayomh
9 years ago

Hi all,

I'm just beginning to look for a nice little mobile home to retire in and haven't had time to do as much research as I'd like, but I'm planning to go see the property below tomorrow and am hoping I can get a little insight beforehand.

The home looks like it's in very nice condition, but it's a little over 40 years old. I've never thought of mobile homes as being especially long-lived, I'd need to get another (hopefully) 20 years out of it, and I'm a little concerned about its age.

Should I be? Anything in particular I should ask/find out/check into before buying a home this old? I've already determined that my insurance carrier won't touch a mobile over 20 years old... any ideas who would insure it?

I'd appreciate any advice you folks could offer.

http://www.forsalebyowner.com/listing/3-bed-Mobile-Home-for-sale-by-owner-1015-Chancellor-75143/23989568

Comments (5)

• ryseryse_2004
    9 years ago

It looks to be in good condition but you will have to see it in person. Is the price comparable to other mobile homes in the area that are older? As far as insurance goes, if you could find someone to insure it, I think it would be very expensive. If I were you, I would just get liability insurance just as you would an old car.

• cathyyg
    9 years ago

$39,500? That price strikes me as outrageous for a home that old. My mother's single wide MH in Florida of similar age cost half that, and brand new double wide homes can be bought up here in Michigan for $65,000.

My biggest concern after price would be the furnace, roof, hot water heater. They are likely to all be close to end of life again even if they have been replaced before. And have the windows been replaced with double glazed ones?

Foremost is likely to insure this home, as they insure a lot of manufactured homes. But it is much more expensive than homeowner's insurance.