Return to the Manufactured Homes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
modular v site built recomendations please!!

Posted by mikesgirl1990 (My Page) on
Tue, Sep 5, 06 at 12:31

Hi, I'm a newbie to your forum have read a lot of past posts that are so informative!! I would love to get some advice from some of you all with experience!! We are considering building or modular home. We have a young family, which as you know is so all consuming so we are looking for the option that has least headaches/time attached to it. And budget is a big consideration also. So in a nutshell we are loooking at the option wich is best for our budget and heavy personal obligations. We are not prepared to do a manufatured/trailer home--hate that depreciation. We are reasonably handy and have some very talented friends who would lend us a day or two of their time. I know that is a tall order--have looked atlots of house plans, several kit built homes, panelized, modular etc--we're dizzy !! Can anyone give us an opinion who has been through one or the other -site built or modular or even better if you've been through both!! sorry this is so long winded-thanks in advance
leah

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: modular v site built recomendations please!!

We have done both.

Building a site built home takes months. And if the weather doesn't cooperate, you lose time. And if a sub hasn't finished his last job... you wait. We started construction in August and the home was finished in late March.

Our current home is modular. We ordered it in September and was in it by Novemner 1st.

Costs. The cost was about the same as a site built home. The land costs the same, the well and septic costs the same, the lot clearing costs the same, the cellar costs the same, etc.

But when you look at modulars, make sure you have a dealer that will act as the general contractor. Just like a site builder. Let them do the legwork.