Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drummrgrl

love my home, want to make it permanent?

drummrgrl
17 years ago

So I have a question. I am new to owning a mobile home. I had originally bought it for the land (in fact couldn't get financing for the singlewide, only the land!) Since moving in I really like it. It is just the right size for us (14x66 with a 10x15 knockout which doubles the living room). We are considering a complete refurbish inside and out. I mean ALL new over the years. I really like it.

One of my many questions is . . . .

Can an older (1988 clayton) singlewide be foundationalized to a permanent home? The addition, although made with superior materials (tongue and groove wood walls and ceiling),is not formally 'attached' properly. (More like built next to) I have read of this being a possibility but is it really possible on an older home or just new? and does anyone know how much something like this runs (or who in TN might do this)?

Is it something that we could undertake ourselves? We are rather adventurous since we didn't actually pay anything for the mobile, only the land.

I would really rather make this into a 'home' than build new. (the recycler in me can throw anything away espcially a whole house!!) I love the house seat (best we've got). Has septic and well already and I don't want to be without a home for 6mths to a year. However, it was soooo hard to find a loop hole to by it. I am afraid that in 10 years if we sell that we'll be losing alot of money (on the upgrades that I want to do: new windows, new siding, drywalling, bath rooms, etc)

Thanks in advance for any help or advice . . . .

Comments (5)

• coolvt
    17 years ago

I would think that the first requirement to making it really permanent with using the addition would be to have the whole thing on a concrete slab. I think both sections are going to do some settling over time without a slab. It would be too bad to spend the money and then have things start to crack and fall apart.