Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seashine

recessed lighting help

seashine
10 years ago

Thanks in advance if anyone can offer any help. I'm new to the world of lighting and overwhelmed. We have an electrician coming to our 1940's house next week to rewire and upgrade. He suggested recessed lights be put in at least the living room. I was reluctant because all I could think of were the older style that look like glarey eye balls looking down at me. I've since realized there's a whole world of improved recessed lights that look attractive and won't irritate me.

Question: How do I figure out placement (hoping for suggestions)? Evenly spaced across living room? We don't have a furniture plan and it's likely to change over time.

Question: Should we go ahead and put recessed lighting in the dining room, hall, and two bedrooms?

Question: 4 inch or 6 inch? Is one an old standard, one a newer standard?

Question: Should we go straight to LED recessed lights?

The Juno wheat haze/white trim is part of what won me over that recessed lights could light a space and disappear into the background. Should I consider/ask for these or something else.

I'll post a floorplan soon.

Comments (2)

• seashine
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Currently there is no overhead lighting in the living room, and one I don't like in each of the bedrooms, hall, and dining room.
    Here's the floorplan:

• lee676
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Q1: Will need to know your ceiling height. If it's the common 8 foot, I'd probably go with 8 lights in a 2 x 4 matrix in the living room, or maybe 6 in a 2 x 3, and four lights arranged in a square for the other rooms. Roughly 3 feet in from the walls, about 7 feet apart, but it depends on the lights you use and their beam spread.

Q2: IMO, yes