Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
delilah66

Dimmer Problem

Delilah66
13 years ago

I had a handyman (licensed for "simple" electrical work, but not master electrician) hang 3 new ceiling light fixtures and install dimmer switches on 2 of them (a 5-bulb and a 2-bulb). Each of the fixtures is rated for 100w incandescent bulbs, which I used. However, the dimmer switches get hot at full power and lower power. I replaced the 100w bulbs with 75w bulbs. Same problem. Any suggestions?

Comments (15)

• Sara_in_philly
    13 years ago

I am no electrician, but what are your dimmer switches rated for.

• Delilah66
    Original Author
    13 years ago

The dimmers as installed are rated for 500w.

• DavidR
    13 years ago

Is the box the dimmers are installed in plastic? You might have the installation revised so that they're in an oversized METAL box. That will help to dissipate the heat better.

The phrase "licensed for 'simple' electrical work, but not master electrician" makes me suspicious. Just what does t his mean? I'm not a pro myself, but as I understand it, either he's a licensed electrician or he isn't. Maybe Brick or one of the other pros here can speak to this.

In any case, I'd want to be sure he or she was properly licensed. In most cities it's illegal for an unlicensed person to do electrical work on your house.

• texasredhead
    13 years ago

We are licensed, bonded and insured master electricians in Dallas. Don't know where you live, but we have never heard of any one being licensed for "simple" electrical work.

In our area, even an apprentice or journeyman has to work under a master. Only a master electrician can pull permits.

However, none of this doesn't answer your question on this or the electrical board.

• Delilah66
    Original Author
    13 years ago

davidr - An oversized box may be called for.