Return to the Lighting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
MinkeAire Concept II or Casablanca Isotope ceiling fan for bdrm?

Posted by susanelewis (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 18, 10 at 22:49

The ceiling fan in my son's bedroom just quit working after making a noise. It is 15 years old so I guess I'm not too surprised and it ran non-stop for most of that time. So I'm looking to upgrade it to a one-piece unit.

We have a Casablanca Stealth ceiling fan in our great room that we love so we came across the Isotope that caught our eye. Love the design! However it hangs down a bit further than we wanted and it is only 44"...the current fan is 48". It also has a low CFM rating and that caused me concern.

I talked to an online company that was very helpful and they steered me to the MinkaAire Concept II fan. At first I was turned off by only 3 blades, but the reviews and CFM ratings made a believer out of me that this baby moves air! However, I'm less thrilled by the design and I have no experience with Minka fans.

Does anyone have either of these fans?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: MinkeAire Concept II or Casablanca Isotope ceiling fan for bd

I have dealt with both and would recommend the Minka Concept II. Coupon code GRAND is working for 10% off this fan right now.

o

We have 4 minka aire fans and I LOVE them. One is in the family room, about 10 years old (can't find the style; they might not make it anymore). We also have 3 Concept II's, about 3-5 years old: a bronze finish one in our master br, and 2 white ones in our kids' bedrooms. They are silent, perfectly balanced and definitely move air. I also love their stylish look.

My husband installed all of them. The only other ceiling fan we've ever had was (I think) a hunter from Home Depot. It came with the little balancing clips for the blades and wobbled with and without them. These fans are a DREAM in comparison. I wouldn't hesitate.

o