Return to the Lighting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Lighting Location help please!

Posted by cmcgalrd01 (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 10, 09 at 1:00

Im having my kitchen remodeled and I have absolutely no idea where to put recessed lighting. I tried track lighting and it is just absolutely not enough light.

The area of the room that needs lighting is 6'4" x 10'8". It is a narrow long area with a wall on one side and cabinets on the other.

I must warn you I am NOT AN ARTIST! I tried to do this for the sake of getting help. They pantry is way off scale, really nothing is to scale, but I wanted to show the idea ive been able to come up with so far.

The blue are the pendant/teardrop lighting im going to do, the red is the recessed lighting.

Also, gow far off the pantry all do the lights need to be to not have reflection?

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Lighting Location help please!

Here is a better drawing after I took a bit of time but still is not to scale.

Photobucket

o

I would add another one at the other entry. In a room that is this narrow, you really don't need the one in the center.
What is the worry about the reflection on the pantry? Are there glass doors? Other than those 2 changes, your plan looks fine. Use a good flood bulb and you will have enough light overlapping to illuminate the room. Bulb wattage depends on ceiling height, type of housings which you didn't include.

o

I would get a fixture to temoraily hold the bulb that you are considering useing before installing the fixtures. You can take the temporary fixure around the room and find the best spot. I had can fixtures installed in my kitchen and later discovered that the crown molding made some really wierd shadows on the cabinets. That was working with a kitchen designer no less. I had to move them ofcourse I had to fix the sheetrock in the ceiling etc.

o