Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
periwinkle18

asked for cree, builder installed sylvania led

periwinkle18
12 years ago

Hi - I am building a new house. So all new wiring and electrical. A long time ago, I specified that in certain areas I wanted the CREE LR6. For cost reasons, couldn't do it everywhere. I am not an electrician, so I simply mentioned that because we are starting new, I did not want retrofit wiring - that we should do the wiring based on the fact that we are installing new LED. I am a bit out of my depth here, but thought that perhaps the set up is different if you are retrofitting versus building new?

Anyway, I was very disappointed to stop by the job site today and see that they were in the process of installing Sylvania LED kits. The box says 'Sylvania ULTRA LED 6" recessed kit". Wide flood replacement. Dimmable. 3000K. Although the lights were purchased at a local big box store, here is the light online: http://www.polar-ray.com/Sylvania-RT6-_p_272.html

I think the ones that have been installed look good, but I specifically asked for the CREE LR6. Are the Sylvania ones as good? Should I have them switch them out for CREE?

My other concern is that is that the wiring is the retrofit type, based on the fact that these seem to be retrofit lights - but I am getting a bit out of my depth of understanding.

Any advice or perspective would be welcome.

Thanks-

Peri

Comments (6)

• David
    12 years ago

The lr6 costs more than the Sylvania Rt6. If the contract specified lr6, I would expect lr6 lights. Alternatively, I would insist on an appropriate discount.

The warranty period is longer for Cree as is the color rendition index.

The led modules in general are intended for both new build and retrofit applications.

• periwinkle18
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the response!