Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nashvillekit

Wireless remote for existing ceiling can lights

NashvilleKit
9 years ago

I have a room with several ceiling can floodlights (currently incandescent, prob going to LED soon). They are all on one circuit controlled by two switches (one a dimmer) at either end of the room (i.e. a 3-pole setup). I want to have a battery-operated remote control that can switch the lights off or on.

I want to use it where I have a line-of-sight to the dimmable switch but not the other wall switch. I don't care about dimming the lights with the remote. I've looked on the 'Net at Lutron and Heathco products but I can't figure out if they'll do the job. I'm a good electrician and am willing to replace both switches if I need to. Just need some guidance and/or reviews of others who have done this.

Comments (7)

• David
    9 years ago

Caseta switches would work

• NashvilleKit
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I cannot find how the Lutron Caseta system can help me.

To be clear, I do NOT want to give up either of the in-wall switch functions. I want to ADD a third function - the remote control. I have looked at the Lutron product, but it instructs me to replace not only one of the 3-way switches but BOTH. And I end up with the remote "glued" to one of the in-wall switch locations.

I want both switches to operate in the conventional manner AND be able to use the remote anywhere else in the room to turn the lights on or off. I'm certainly willing to replace the current technology at both "ends" of the 3-pole setup, but I do not want the remote being one of the 2 "ends." I want it in my hand, so to speak.

Does anyone know of a product to do this? Or have I missed something with the Caseta product line?

• David
    9 years ago

Did you look at the following?

Here is a link that might be useful: caseta

• NashvilleKit
    Original Author
    9 years ago