Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wildpack

recessed lighting basic question

wildpack
14 years ago

In midst of DIY kitchen reno and slowly going thru recessed lighting posts.

How do people pick 4" versus 5" versus 6" cans? I'd come to the conclusion that 4" meant small cans taking small 50W PAR20 and 5" meant 75W PAR30, i.e. similar beam angles (similar spacing) and different foot candles. Some posts mention they have mixed 4" and 5" in their kitchen. What are they using for what? and what's the decision process? Large cans for high ceilings or what?

I've found that self-taught means you can know some complicated stuff and be completely ignorant of some basic stuff. I keep thinking I'm missing something here :)

TIA

Comments (8)

• wildpack
    Original Author
    14 years ago

If a fixture says it takes 75W PAR30, can I instead use a 50W PAR20? Only a few Halo trims specify both sizes. I'd assumed bulbs are non-interchangeable due to different physical configurations, but then texasredhead has mentioned there's an adjustment to lower the bulb.

• dim4fun
    14 years ago

Lots of missing info. If you are trying to design your own lighting in the middle of a remodel but asking these types of questions you might want to check out a book at the library. Attached is an online class. I hope the link works... There would be too much to type to explain all that you need to learn fast.

Here is a link that might be useful: More help

• normclc
    14 years ago

The size of the recessed can is determined by the light bulb(lamp)that you want to use.
    As a rule the 5" is for 75par30 or less, used for general lighting.
    The 6" is for 90par39 lamps that you would neec on ceilings over 15'.
    The 4" is usually used for 50mr16 (or less) 12 volt lamps , used to direct light on art or task areas .