Return to the Lighting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Please help! Under cabinet lighting

Posted by tanyaandmatt13 (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 1, 12 at 21:38

I am new to the forum, and this is my first time posting. My husband and I are remodeling our kitchen. We will have Ubatuba (black, dark) granite counters and tan, light tan, and brown tiles for our backsplash. The backsplash will coordinate with our floors. Our cabinets are maple and medium-toned (Rye) with an onyx glaze. Our kitchen is average size.

What type of linear under-cabinet lighting should we get?

Fluorescent or LED? (I think we are leaning toward fluorescent)

Warm or cool fluorescent? (I like warm colors and would like this but don�t know if it gives off as much light as cool)

T8, T5, or T4 (why did you pick it?)

How did you figure out what length of linear lights to use? (I know they say measure smallest cabinet and use largest size, but how do you accommodate for random-sized cabinets?)

How important is lux? We have a relatively dark kitchen and want to make sure we have enough lighting for tasks such as cutting and cooking. (I�ve read 500 is the best and 300 is minimum, so what do you recommend? I don�t want it to be ridiculously bright,)

Uniformity ratio of 5:1 or less? Is that correct?

Thank you so much for any advice you can offer!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Please help! Under cabinet lighting

There is a long running thread on Ucl which I've provided a link to. Although the main focus is on led, the fundamental principles apply to strip lighting.

T8 is not used for Ucl - profile too large and too long.

For small profiles, t4 is the most logical choice. If you need a profile under 1", led is the better option.

Fluorescent lighting tends to be cooler in color.

Here is a link that might be useful: Ucl continuation

o

Thanks for the response David, good read. So I think we are almost decided on T4 fluorescents.