Houzz Logo Print
dodge59

Don't Do IT!

dodge59
10 years ago

I have a Liftmaster garage door opener.
"So WATT"! , you say , "What's that got to do with lighting"

Stay tuned to find out
(It might save you a service call on your opener)!

Remote for the opener always had a great range, all of a sudden range is down to 6 feet or less. Replaced batteries in remote, even tried a spare remote with new battery, No Help!!!!

So I spent an hour or so googling as I did not want to waste money on a service call for it.

Most posts I read suggested an " Electrical Interference Problem". (IE, noisy circuit breaker or florescent lamp, some kind of RF transmitter----etc etc etc.

Sounded "Logical" to me, but I had none of the above problems and the other 2 garage door openers worked fine.

So I try to recall what had changed since the problem began, (as far as "Interference" goes)hmmmmmm????

OK HERE TIS!!!

I changed the bulb in the opener as old one was burned out.
Wanting to save power, I replaced it with an LED bulb.
Replaced that with an incandescent---PROBLEM SOLVED!!

Hopefully this might save somebody else some googling or worse yet the cost of a service call, (that more than likely) would not be solved on the 1st visit!

Gary

Comments (12)

• joel_bc
    10 years ago

This is interesting. Too bad it cost you $$ for the LED bulb you bought and had to remove.

Okay, so I can see that an LED, being a diode, could result in waves that might cause interference. But I wonder how big the sphere of influence would be? And might it interfere with, say, radio reception?